The First Spark: Starting My Senior Thesis

Eleanor Haglund - My First Spark

Eleanor Haglund – My First Spark

Well, here we are. The start of something that I cannot yet imagine: My Senior Thesis. I have worked so hard to get here by studying hard in my classes and honing my work ethic. I am so excited to begin and so thankful for all of the people who are helping me. A special thanks to my advisors, Jane McCafferty and Kevin Gonzalez, and Dietrich College for supporting me in this opportunity.

A little bit about my project: I plan on completing a novel as my senior thesis. I will write it during the summer and the fall semester and editing and rewriting it during the spring semester. My novel will be about the wife of a wealthy industrialist in 1950s Pittsburgh who gets involved in social issues that oppose her husband’s business interests. I want to examine class issues that stem from industrial pursuits, political polarization and whether or not collaboration can be sustained in flourishing and competitive cities.

I look forward to going through the novel writing process for the first time and learning all that I can from my advisors. I know that the process will be long and difficult but I am ready for the challenge.

Read more about me and my project.

