Goals, Update and Books. Oh my!

notebookHello friends!

I have so much to share with you.

Firstly, I have forgotten to update you on my change in novel topic. My first novel topic, about Pittsburgh during it’s industrial boom, required far more research and time in order to do the topic and the city justice, and I do not think I will be able provide that during my senior year. Therefore, I have decided to write my novel on a different subject. My novel is currently shaping up to be a coming of age story of a girl starting college. I have centered her world on college Emergency Medical Services (EMS) because I have some experience with that community and culture. We will have to see if I do it justice.

ems

I was receiving the dispatch for my first EMS call. Obviously, I was terrified.

This week is very exciting. My goal for the summer is to have written 150 pages of the first draft. This means I will have more than half of the first draft finished by the start of the school year and will leave me ample time to revise the draft when I am done. I have reached my first milestone. I have completed 50 pages of my first draft, which means I have accomplished a third of my goal!

I have one last thing to share with you today: my reading list. These are books that my thesis advisor recommended I read in order to get inspiration and learn from the masters.

Birds of America by Lorrie Moore

Bobcat by Rebecca Lee

Thunderstruck by Elizabeth McCracken

Bad Behavior by Mary Gaitskill

Drinking Coffee Elsewhere by ZZ Packer

Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill

The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Matthis

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

Ms. Hempel Chronicles by Sarah Shun-Lien Bynum

So far, I have read Birds of America, Bobcat, and Prep. I hope to start the Twelve Tribes of Hattie and Drinking Coffee Elsewhere soon. Each book I have read has inspired me or taught me something new about writing (but honestly, they were fun to read too).

The overall process has ups and downs, little joys and hiccups but it has so far been an enjoyable experience. I am happy to be moving forward with the novel.

Read more about my project.

