Couchsurfing in Limbo

We begin production in just two weeks, arriving in Paris on July 9th. I’m nervous, of course, but I’m feeling ready to get started.

I’ve been in Europe for about a week now. Under the auspices of CMU’s School of Drama, I was just in the Czech Republic attending the Prague Quadrennial, the biggest international convention for theatrical design in the world. I’m currently in Oslo, Norway, staying with my friend’s extended family here. (Basically, I’m bumming around Europe wherever I can stay for free until we start filming in Paris.)

Yes, those are real. Welcome to the Czech Republic.

Yes, those are real. Welcome to the Czech Republic.

New friends, old traditions: Elin with her formal bunad

New friends, old traditions: Elin with her formal bunad

Before I left the states, Dr. Niang and I decided on how we would approach the interview process with our participants. We chose four diverse individuals to focus most of our time on. We’ll be following these characters throughout their daily routines, with both moving and stationary interviews. Each day will have a different theme of questions:

Day #1: Daily life, and what lies ahead

Day #2: Beauty/sexuality

Day #3: Identity

Day #4: Major events pertaining to religion and race (Charlie Hebdo, 2005 Riots, etc)

Day #5: Fears/struggles/obstacles

I’m excited to get to know these women, and I hope that through us, you can get to know them too.

For now, check out this series by Cecile Emeke, which is my current inspiration.

Read more about my project.

