The Jay-Z to my Beyoncé

I just realized that I’ve never introduced you to my Director of Photography, and all-around partner in crime, Joe Hill.

In Prague, after a successful showing of Joe’s production, Surrounded 2.0

In Prague, after a successful showing of Joe’s production, Surrounded 2.0

He’s a fellow student in CMU’s School of Art and will be the primary camera operator on this project. We’ve worked on several films together, including the short promotional videos we shot in Tamil Nadu, India for Visions Global Empowerment. Most of these videos are still in post-production, but you can watch the Dindigul episode here, which we published at the end of last semester.

We’ve definitely learned a lot throughout our adventures about filming on the run and traveling with equipment. One thing is certain; big suitcases are harbingers of death on hilly, cobblestone streets.

Little did I know, this was only the bottom of the hill.

Little did I know, this was only the bottom of the hill.

But I guess it was worth it.

But I guess it was worth it.

And after the hundreds of selfie sticks and outstretched smartphones that bombarded us in Prague, Rome, and Barcelona, we’ve been inspired to consider an idea for a new documentary: Touring the Tourists.

This couple didn’t have a selfie-stick. I was happy to oblige.

This couple didn’t have a selfie-stick. I was happy to oblige.

Anyway, we arrived in Paris last night, and we start filming today at an AfroParisian Network event. Our batteries are charged, our memory cards are formatted, and our permits are secured. It’s time to get to work!

Learn more about my project.

