Processing

lw4

Last week, I experienced a lot of death.

Sorry if that was kind of an intense place to begin. Sorry if that’s not quite what you were expecting. But it wasn’t what I was expecting, either.

Although none were directly connected to me, the deaths did impact people in my inner circle, and, as a result, impacted me as well. This summer, I have found space within myself to open up much more readily with those around me. I have nurtured a growing sense of empathy and compassion, two qualities I believed to be beneficial.

Until last week.

There was something so personal about all of the losses. For two days, I allowed myself to be swallowed by grief, part of which was for souls I had never even met.

How could this happen? How could I be so distraught over a loss of something that was never mine?

It all had to do with my processing. I latched onto the sadness of each occasion and allowed my empathy and compassion to overflow to the point that it engulfed me. There was no separating myself from it, or so I thought.

For as long as there is life, there will be death. And, for those of us left behind, there will never be a good time for Death to take the ones we love. It’s a fact. It’s a heart-wrenching, blood-chilling, terrible fact. But, that’s the way it is.

So how do we process this? How do we cope with the things in life that are too devastating to handle? How do we pick ourselves up and move on.

lw5

I’m going to be honest and say, I’m not quite sure.

For me, diving into a creative form helps. Be it writing or yoga, there is always a way in which you can introduce a new concept that shakes up your traditional form. Sometimes, being gentle with yourself in whatever activity feels right, will allow you to dig deep, unearthing words or movements you may not have thought possible. And sometimes, accessing those deep, quiet places is exactly what we need to begin to heal.

Throughout the summer, I have experienced so many varied events, some of them positive, some of them negative. Finding a way to incorporate the painful moments into my thesis is a challenge that I have chosen to accept. Because, life isn’t perfect. It can be beautiful and inspirational and so full of joy at times, but there is a dark to every light, a down to every up. And embracing the fullness of it all is part of what makes us whole.

It might not be easy, but it’s a good place to start.

This Week’s Inspiration:

For the Eyes: I’ve been learning Lightroom this week, which has meant a lot of increased screen time. When my eyes need a break, I take myself outside for a change of scenery, or I take a nap. Because that’s good for your eyes too, right?

For the Ears: Do you find yourself starting to speak before someone has finished their sentence? I’m definitely guilty of this. So, let’s be mindful together and actually listen to the people we are talking with. Maybe thinking of it as talking with instead of talking to will help.

For the Soul: “Forgive, not because someone deserves forgiveness, but because you deserve peace.” -Deepak Chopra.

Til next time, friends.

