Do DIY: A Documentary About the Pittsburgh Music Scene

DhruvaKrishna_201x201Music has always been my passion. From a young age, I was enamored with its undeniable universality in connecting cultures. Growing up as a first generation Indian-American, music was the first way I could connect with my parent’s South Indian culture and tradition. This ability for music to connect me to others only grew as I began to pick up instruments like guitar, piano and drums. Listening to my favorite albums, I was able to transport myself into other cultures and understand the struggles of artists who put their souls into their songs. Music was the medium where I could communicate myself best, and create the most genuine form of myself artistically. Simply put, music has fundamentally changed my perception of the world, my experiences and my life.

Outside of school, I am heavily involved in the Pittsburgh music scene. I play in several bands, including Eastend Mile and Manic Soul, while also working as a booking agent in the area. I am incredibly excited to intertwine my academic and creative skills to create this project!

Learn more about my project.

