Part 11 (Finale): Rest

Thesis Turn In.jpg

A very thick thesis I turned in

The last thing I had to do for undergraduate work was present my thesis at the Meeting of the Minds, an annual research symposium Carnegie Mellon holds every year. I got to share my work with colleagues, friends, family, and even a couple who had donated money to help fund my research. It’s a pretty fitting conclusion to college for me considering that I have devoted much of my time and effort into my thesis and research in general and that I will continue to do research as a career.

That being said, I’m also super hyped about not having to do work for the next 3 months until I go to graduate school. Today I felt bad about not doing work, but then I remembered I didn’t even have any work to do! If anything, the one thing I might do over the summer is to make my thesis publishable. It would be better if I do a follow-up study where I include more measures (such as asking participants whether they perceived a cost in their sacrifice) and maybe another type of intervention other than touch to see how results differ depending on what’s implemented. It wouldn’t be necessary to do, but it will help me build a stronger and more thoughtful case if I add another layer to my study. That will have to wait until graduate school though, and for the most part, I can look forward to pure relaxing, which is something I haven’t felt in a long time.

Anyway, as cheesy as this will sound, I mean this very genuinely. I’m very appreciative of my time at CMU. I have met many intelligent, inspiring people who have been so encouraging and supportive of me. I truly would not have had the fortunate opportunities that I got to experience without the education and advice I’ve received in my time here. I wish all the luck to the fellows who are graduating and to the new fellows as they start their work. You all will do great things 🙂

